Cagayan de Oro is geographically located along the central coast of Northern Mindanao. between the latitude 8o 14′ to 8o 31’5″ and longitudes 124o 27′ to 124o 49′ cast. It borders two provinces on the south namely: Lanao del Norte and Bukidnon. It is bounded by two municipalities of Misamis Oriental – Tagoloan and Opol on the east and west respectively. Its strategic location and its considerable coastline have made it the principal commercial center of Northern Mindanao.

Political Subdivision

  • Cagayan de Oro is divided into 80 barangays, 40 of which are within the Poblacion, and 40 other barangays are outside the Poblacion.
  • Based on the criteria set by the National Statistics Office, the urban barangays as of 1995 include: all Poblacion barangays (Barangays 1-40). Agusan, Bayabas, Bonbon, Bugo, Bulua, Camaman-an, Carmen, Consolation, Gusa, Kauswagan, Lapasan, Macabalan, Macasandig, Nazareth, Patag, Puntod and Tablon
  • The rural barangays on the other hand consist of Baikingon, Balubal, Balulang, Bayanga, Besigan, Canitoan, Cugman, Dansolihon, F.S. Catanico, Indahag, Iponan, Lumbia, Mambuaya, Pagalugan, Pagatpat, Pigsag-an, Puerto, San Simon, Taglimao, Tagpangi, Tignapoloan, Tuburan, and Tumpagon.

Land Area and Land Forms

The total land area of Cagayan de Oro is 48,885.83 hectares or 488.86 square kilometers representing 13.9% of the entire Misamis Oriental. It includes about 25 kilometers of coastline and a fine deep water harbor, Macajalar Bay.

Its major landforms are describe below:

Major Landform
Area (Hectares)
Coastal, alluvial and residual
Footslopes, hills and mountains
Canyons, gorges, rivers and creeks